Standard Content

Our priorities are guided by committees made up of Individual, Organisational and Corporate Members.

Standards Advisory Board

The Standards Advisory Board, advises the Board and staff team on issues around best practice in fundraising; positions we need to take in relation to regulatory and legal matters as they relate to fundraising; and oversees our strategy for developing guidance and best practice resources to support and guide our members and the wider fundraising community. 

  • Graham Bunce - Director of Operations, APPCO Group
  • Joe Jenkins - Executive Director of Engagement and Income Generation, The Children’s Society
  • Meredith Niles - former Executive Director of Fundraising and Engagement, Marie Curie
  • Ed Tait - Director of Fundraising, ActionAid UK
  • Sally-Anne Hunter - Strategic and Fundraising Consultant
  • Clare Beavan - Foundation Manager, DWF LLP
  • Lewis Coghlin - Director of Fundraising, Action Medical Research
  • Mike Wade - ‎Director of Fundraising & Communications, National Deaf Children's Society
  • Sonya Trivedy - Executive Director of Income, Samaritans
  • Sarah Wilson - Assistant Director of Engagement, Anthony Nolan
  • Katy Myers Green - British Red Cross
Learning and Development Committee

Our Learning and Development Committee is responsible for guiding the development of our professional development programmes. It has taken the lead on developing our qualifications framework and our work on fundraising apprenticeships.

  • Caryn Skinner, Director, Sharpstone Skinner
  • Di Gornall, Director of Fundraising and Supporter Engagement, Sustrans
  • Frances Milner, Director of Fundraising, Prince’s Trust
  • Jane Banks, Consultant, Independent Consultant
  • Karen McKenzie, Income Generation Director, Douglas Macmillan Hospice
  • Kurstin Finch-Gnehm, Head of High Value Giving Operations, Dogs Trust
  • Loretta Bresciani Murray, Consultant, Independent Consultant.
  • Paul Farthing, Chief Executive, Shooting Star Children's Hospices.
Finance and Resources Committee

Our Finance and Resources Committee is responsible for overseeing all of our finances, risks and resources to ensure the short and long term viability of the Chartered Institute of Fundraising, and advises our Board of Trustees on those matters.

  • Rohan Hewavisenti - (Chair & Chartered Institute Hon. Treasurer), Chief Financial Officer, Amnesty International
  • Emily Drayson – Fundraising Researcher
  • Kathryn Trower – Interim Director of Finance, The London Community Foundation
  • Graham Darnell - Graham Darnell Consulting
  • Sarah Bissell, Director of Fundraising, Thames Hospice
Nominations and Elections Committee

The Nominations and Elections Committee is responsible for overseeing the application and selection processes for elected and co-opted Trustees and promoting and advising on nominations for our Lifetime Contribution Award and Fellowship of the Chartered Institute of Fundraising. They are also responsible for recommending suitable recipients to our Board.

  • Louise Parkes, (Chair) – Chief Executive, Great Ormond Street Hospital Children’s Charity
  • Gill Jolly - Director, Achieve Consultants Ltd
  • Gary Kernahan – Director of Fundraising, Children 1st
  • Valerie Morton, Consultant
  • Andy King – Partnerships Manager, Remarkable Partnerships
  • Sofia Zeenat Sheikh - Charity Director, Raise West Herts. Hospital Charity (Chartered Institute Trustee)
Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Our Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee supports us to deliver the our strategic objectives to make the profession, and us as a Chartered Institute, more equal, diverse and inclusive. It advises on the delivery and reviews progress of our Change Collective EDI strategy, and provides challenge and support to the Board and staff team.

  • Paul Amadi, Chief Supporter Officer, British Red Cross
  • Julia Ammon, Trusts Programme Manager, Blesma
  • Emily Casson, Digital Marketing & Fundraising Manager, The Salvation Army (Chair of the Chartered Institute of Fundraising North East Groups' committee)
  • Priya Changela, Direct Marketing & Fundraising Officer, Disasters Emergency Committee
  • Mark Clements, Community Fundraiser, Marie Curie
  • Mickella Lewis-Purvis, Network Grants Fundraising Manager, Mind
  • Joyce Fraser OBE, Chair, Black Heroes Foundation (Trustee observer)
  • Rebecca Mansell, Chief Executive, British Deaf Association (Trustee observer)
  • Isobel Michel, Consultant, NSP Philanthropy & Fundraiser, Southside Family Project (Trustee observer)
  • Lucy Warnes, Fundraising Manager (Single Gifts), Orbis
Our National, Regional and Special Interest Groups Committees

We have committees to steer our work and support our members in the devolved nations of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Find out more about our work in the nations

Our regional groups support fundraisers across England, with training, networking and mentoring opportunities. As with the nations, our regional committees bring local expertise to our work as a Chartered Institute.

Find out more about our work in the regions

Our special interest groups bring passionate fundraisers together to network, share and learn from each other across a range of specialisms and communities.

Find out more about our special interest groups

Fundraising Convention Board

Our Fundraising Convention Board has a vital role in curating the programme content for Fundraising Convention.

The board is made up of passionate fundraisers who bring with them a wealth of perspectives, experiences and backgrounds from across our fundraising community.

Members Only Content